Sovi.AI - AI Math Tutor

Scan to solve math questions

QUESTION IMAGE

during its most recent fiscal year, raphael enterprises sold 270,000 el…

Question

during its most recent fiscal year, raphael enterprises sold 270,000 electric screwdrivers at a price of $17.10 each. fixed costs amounted to $729,000 and income was $999,000. what amount should have been reported as variable costs in the companys contribution margin income statement for the year in question?
multiple choice
$4,617,000
$2,889,000
$3,618,000
$2,160,000
$1,728,000

Explanation:

Step1: Calculate total revenue

Revenue = Price per unit × Number of units sold.
Revenue = \( 8.70\times270000=\$2349000 \)

Step2: Use the profit formula

Profit (Income) = Revenue - Variable costs - Fixed costs.
We need to find Variable costs. Rearranging the formula: Variable costs = Revenue - Fixed costs - Income.
Variable costs = \( 2349000 - 729000-999000 \)
Variable costs = \( 2349000-(729000 + 999000)\)
Variable costs = \( 2349000 - 1728000=\$621000 \)

Wait, no, actually, using the contribution - margin income statement formula: Contribution margin=Revenue - Variable costs, and Income = Contribution margin - Fixed costs. So Contribution margin=Income + Fixed costs.
Contribution margin=\(999000 + 729000=\$1728000\)

Answer:

\(\$1728000\)